top of page

New Years Resolutions 2018


Hello 2018, you are a welcome sight. 2017 was certainly a year of high highs and low lows. After taking some time to let go of the bad and reminisce in the good that the year bought, I am so ready to dive head first into 2018.

Now I've never been a New Year, New Me girl, but I do believe the start of a new year allows for new beginnings, opportunities, and changes. And New Years Eve has always been cathartic for me– it's a great time to stop and learn, reflect, and then move on. On New Year's Eve, I spend the day doing laundry, organizing my room, and then pampering myself to go into the new year feeling fresh and renewed. My sister and I have recently added to this by treating ourselves to NYE mani pedis. We don't magically wakeup as a new person when the clock strikes midnight, but it's the perfect time to move in a new direction, which is why I like to write up my New Years Resolutions and Goals during the first week of the year, while giving myself time to see what's coming and what I want to change in the new year.

So here I am writing out my Resolutions and Goals one week into 2018. Usually I make along list, but after seeing many friends and bloggers I look up to choosing just a few, I decided to do the same. Oftentimes setting out a lot of goals and specific resolutions can be overwhelming, and when we are overwhelmed we tend not to commit to any of them. This year I decided to keep it simple. In a big year of change and uncertainty I want to focus on my mental and physical health. This is a year of graduating from college, moving, traveling, and starting a real full time job. In the hustle and bustle, and all the stress and emotion, that comes with big changes sometimes our heath can be left for the way side. So my Two Big Resolution are to 1. always take care of my mental health 2. aways take care of my physical health.

I plan to take care of my physical health by keeping a consistent exercise routine, making sure to get enough sleep (at least most nights), and eating well. While the goal is to feel my best, I am not going to ban all sweets or get upset when I need to take a few days off from exercise. Allowing yourself to feel it out and not being upset when it does not go as planned is most important :) I have also recently gotten another round of blood tests back that shared some results on what has been making me sick these last 6 years. Exciting stuff! I will share a later post with ore specifics!

The movement towards self care and taking care of mental health has spread like wild fire (we do have to give some credit to ourselves millennials). People are talking about taking care of themselves! My plan for mental health is keeping my day planner up to date, journaling, reading books for fun, and taking time to relax with baths & essential oils.

2018 Here we come!!

love & laughter,

Kaitlin

bottom of page