top of page

Galentine's Day & Girl Tribes

This week in honor of the month of love and Galentine's Day I collaborated with one of my best friends, Becky Wright, to talk about what Galentine's Day is and what our girl friends mean to us! Becky has recently started a blog and wrote some amazing pieces that you can find on https://rcwright8780.wixsite.com/grabamug. We've been friends for over ten years (since middle school!), so read down to find a serious MS gem.

We hope you enjoy this interview style piece!

What It Means To Us

K: In my all time favorite show, Parks and Rec, Leslie Knope invented Galentine’s Day. What is Galentine’ Day? Only the best day of the year! Every February 13th, my lady friends and I leave our husbands & boyfriends at home & just kick it breakfast style. Ladies celebrating ladies”. The last line ladies celebrating ladies is what has always resonated with me. Celebrating and supporting your girls is important to happiness and to success! Valentine’s Day has become so hallmark (love their movies though) and consumer based, that celebrating our loves can be lost in the hype of it all. Leslie Knope’s preface of breakfast foods brings in comfort & gets over the fanaticism of the day. It’s not about the big gift or night out; it’s about being thoughtful in how you show your love and spending quality time with the people you care about. We have to remember to celebrate each other and show our love. Just today in my class, The Business Case for Investing in Women, we were asked to write down five positive adjectives to describe ourselves. And a lot of the women struggled with being able to write down words like “strong” or “beautiful”, but when it came time to describe our fellow classmates it was easy. Galentine’s Day is the day, although it should be every day, to tell your ladies how strong and beautiful they are and how much you cherish their friendship.

B: Kaitlin really hit the nail on the head. Galentine’s Day is a day to recognize how important the women in your life are and to tell them so. Having your girls around you is so important and reminding them how much you love them is crucial. In a culture that doesn’t always value women, it is so important to lift up and celebrate our girlfriends who are always there for us.

London, Spring Break 2017

Favorite Galentine’s Tradition

K: Going to brunch with my girlfriends or baking VDay treats together! Especially the last four years in college I have so looked forward to Galentine’s Day because it’s a time to enjoy each other’s company, treat ourselves, and to empower each other. It usually comes along during the first round of midterms, and it’s a great remembrance to self care & reminder of what is truly important. A lot of my best friends sadly live in other places and states (some from high school, some from middle school, and some from even before that!). For those friends it’s a great reason to recconnect and remind them how much I love them. This year I sent virtual Galentine’s Cards to them all.

B: My girlfriends are at different universities than I am, so getting together in person on Galentine’s Day isn’t always an option. But making sure that I tell them how much they mean to me is a must! I try to make sure I take some time to at least message them and tell them how much they mean to me. It is so important to not take the people in your life for granted, and Galentine’s Day is a day to remind the women in your life that you love and appreciate them

High School Graduation

Why Finding Your Girl Tribe Is So Important

B: Throughout your life you are going to have a wild roller coaster of ups and downs. Not getting your dream job right away, painful breakups, giving incredible presentations, getting promotions, it’s all going to happen. Having a group of girls there with you is essential for continuing to grow and succeed. One joke/quote that cracks me up every time I see it is “Behind every powerful woman are five other women who proofread her email real quick.” It’s so true!! We girls need to be there to support each other. I know I wouldn’t be where I am today without my girlfriends and we all are going to continue to grow and support each other as we graduate, start jobs, go to grad school, and generally get our lives figured out. Sometimes, when it seems like things are happening too fast, what you need is a girls’ night to unwind, eat some good food, and laugh with each other.

K: Becky nailed this. I had never heard that quote before and it is so true (text messages to boys as well!!). Girls share everything with their friends. They are our support system, therapists, life coaches, personal stylists, mirror on the wall, relationship gurus, travel buddies, recipe testers, workout partners, bedside nurses. Our sisters. And I definitely could not live without mine; they’re family. I will probably be one of those people who has a 20 person bridal party. So thankful for so many amazing girl bosses in my life.

8th Grade Boat Races

bottom of page